Secret Lover, Secret Watchdog

The casual observer takes me for a mainstream professional in my 40’s. My secret identity as a passionate lover of public transit is revealed below for the first time.

My household’s single car is a well-worn, two-door 1993 Nissan Sentra. Paid for many years ago, our investment fund is now as plump as its floor-mats are thin. It sits humbly unused most days as we gallivant around on TriMet. (Our only burglary happened on a rare weekday I had taken the car on errands. The empty driveway seemed to signal nobody was home. Lesson: our car is most valuable as a watchdog.)

TriMet equals physical vitality for me. When I step off the bus or Max my legs are my locomotion to my final destination, strong and springy under my body. I am fit; I walk miles every week.

TriMet for me equals civic engagement. I brush shoulders with people from all income levels and backgrounds– and observe they pose no threat to me. I’ve logged thousands of miles using transit without incident or accident.

Most significantly, TriMet reduces my carbon footprint in the face of global warming. It lets me be a secret activist as well as a secret lover.

3 Responses to “Secret Lover, Secret Watchdog”


  1. 1 the other ali November 12, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Great! As always. Read em all.

  2. 2 the other ali November 12, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Question: How do we take away greed? Education, legislation, a combo of these and more?


  1. 1 Our New Honda Hybrid « Diamond-Cut Life Trackback on May 14, 2008 at 6:56 pm
Comments are currently closed.




