My New Job In Transportation Options

Last Friday afternoon I got the best phone call of my professional life, to date. It was the friendly voice of Michael Ward at Oregon Department of Transportation, offering me the job of Transportation Options Program Manager.

Starting next week that will be my new job and Michael will be my new boss. I’ll be the voice, the advocate, the ‘concept salesperson’ at ODOT — in the state of Oregon — for public transit, carpooling, bicycling and other transportation options. Why do these matter so much? The more we use these options instead of driving alone, the more we build the health of our climate, communities, bodies and bank accounts. As with renewable energy, transportation options build our future.

Thor and I danced for joy at the coast Friday night, to Peter Gabriel’s extended version of In Your Eyes. Many of you know I will dance at the drop of a hat, and even rope Thor into joining me, but this was a particularly happy dance. Why? I have wanted and worked for this kind of full-time right-livelihood position since 2002. It took a long time, and a lot of help.

Big thanks to my husband’s support and to colleagues, friends and mentors Karen Frost, Dan Kaempff, Vicki Lind and many other great people at TriMet, Metro, TOGO, W.T.A., OLCV, Opal Creek Ancient Forest Center and other good organizations.

4 Responses to “My New Job In Transportation Options”


  1. 1 Molly Baer Kramer February 12, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Congrats, Alison! This is a wonderful and well-deserved opportunity for you and everyone in our fine state will benefit from your passionate advocacy. A win-win! Very pleased to hear this news.

  2. 2 Sue February 16, 2008 at 6:33 am

    This is tremendous – I am SO jealous! Please let me know if there is anything I can do to assist you in this incredibly important new role…..


  1. 1 The Five-Carat Commute « Diamond-Cut Life Trackback on April 4, 2008 at 4:22 pm
  2. 2 Driving A Prius In The Wild West « Diamond-Cut Life Trackback on April 22, 2008 at 7:00 pm
Comments are currently closed.




