John Edwards Endorses Obama: Yes

Former U.S. Sen. John Edwards, D-N.C., at a campaign stop in Adel on April 20, 2007.I’m happy to see John Edwards’ endorsement of Barack Obama for president.

I had liked John Edwards very much as a presidential candidate, himself, and was sorry when he left the race in January. He was the only major candidate with the guts to talk about sacrifice (less consumption!) in the face of global warming, and to name corporations as predators who often work against the well-being of citizens.

I voted for Obama in the Oregon primary myself, being convinced not just by his overall vision, but particularly by this: he rejects the notion (that Hillary and McCain embrace) that the U.S. should suspend the gas tax for the summer.

1 Response to “John Edwards Endorses Obama: Yes”


  1. 1 Hansen's Bulldog May 15, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    I think Edwards’ departure from the race for the nomination was well-timed, and he did it with class. The same goes for his decision to endorse Obama.

    Obama, of course, also rejected the summer gas-tax holiday. It’s clearly nothing more than pandering, and it shows how hollow is the rhetoric of Sen. Clinton.

    Edwards would be a good choice as Obama’s running-mate, although I think I’d prefer Gen. Wesley Clark.


Comments are currently closed.




